Local Governing Body

Ian Kendrick – Chair of Governors

Ian has over 40 years experience in the education and school improvement sector. Based on a successful teaching and senior management career in schools, he went on to advisory work in school improvement, including Ofsted inspections, leading school improvement teams in 4 different Local Authorities and Deputy Director for Children’s Services in two LAs. In “semi-retirement”, Ian worked as an independent consultant to primary and secondary schools.  He has been on governing bodies in primary and secondary schools and academies, including positions as chair and vice chair.

Fiona Quinlivan – Vice Chair

Sharon Roscoe – Governor

As Chief Executive of the EPT, Sharon project managed the successful opening of The Heights Blackburn, Eden School and The Heights Burnley. She led the academy conversions for Coal Clough Academy and Atherton High School and more recently the re-brokerage and transfer of Atherton High School and Burnley High School into the EPT. Sharon was formerly chief executive of the Education Improvement Partnership (EIP), a formal collaboration between all secondary phase schools in Blackburn with Darwen which raised educational outcomes, developed business links and delivered national education conferences. She was Vice Chair of the governing body for a primary school which was judged as outstanding by Ofsted. Sharon worked as Strategic Manager (Operations) for CXL and Area Manager for Connexions Lancashire Ltd. She graduated as MBA in 2011 from Lancaster University.

Kirsty Gilbert – Staff Governor

Kirsty started at Atherton in September 2014 as a trainee maths teacher and progressed to joining the teaching staff as a qualified maths teacher in September 2015. Having been at Atherton for 6 years Kirsty has been a part of the change and progress experienced, and as staff governor will share her understanding of the schools ethos and culture to continue to help the school move forward. She has a good professional knowledge of how the school operates knowing its strengths and areas for development.

Charlotte Hanrahan – Governor

Charlotte is currently Whole School Lead for Disadvantaged Pupils at St. Mary’s Catholic High School and a long-standing member of her local parish community. She completed her education in the Greater Manchester area, receiving a First-Class Honours Degree in Theology from Manchester University and a Masters in Education from Manchester Metropolitan University. Charlotte is passionate about effecting social change and is an advocate for equity in the education system and for giving back to her local community. She is excited for this next step in her development, as a member of the governing body, where she is looking forward to sharing her knowledge, experience and passion for education, in support of our school, pupils, parents and staff.

Ian Gregory – Governor

Ian Gregory is Head of PE at Fred Longworth high school and is passionate about promoting health & fitness amongst young people within the local community. He has been teaching for 16 years and also works for Manchester United identifying local talent good enough to play for the academy. He studied PE and a PGCE in secondary education at Liverpool John Moore’s university.  Ian has a good understanding of how the day to day running of a school works and he wants to transfer his passion for sport and education into his role as a governor at Atherton high school.

Michelle True – Parent Governor

Michelle has over 12 years experience of working in Adult Education from both a Tutoring and Administration perspective, working closely with Adults with specific learning difficulties and disabilities. She has two children that attend Atherton High School and is committed to supporting and challenging the school in its commitment to deliver the curriculum effectively, creatively and enjoyably, inspiring life-long learning.

Fuzi Ferreira – Governor

Local Governing Body Information

Log into the Governor Portal

Click the links below to download the following statutory information regarding our Governing Body:

For information regarding The Education Partnership Trust financial reports, please click here.

Chair of Governors contact details
Name: Ian Kendrick
Address: Education Partnership Trust, Pleckgate Road, Blackburn, Lancashire, BB1 8QA

“From seeing the head teacher playing football with the children on the yard, to staff sitting with pupils at lunchtime, everyone works together and there’s a strong feeling of belonging to part of something bigger than just a school”

Mrs Doyle